Confession: writer who never writes

I confess, I am a horrible updater. I am much better at updating Facebook or Twitter, but when it comes time to actually manage a blog, I suck. And for those who knew me even in my angsty teen years, I sucked at maintaining a blog even then. Maybe I should have listened to my gut when it told me that I would not properly maintain and update a blog with the attention it deserved – because I have always failed to do so.

Kind of like everytime I buy a weekly planner. I pay the $10 for it and use it for a week. And then I stop. Months go by and sometimes years before I pick the dang thing up again and realize what a waste of money it was. Or when I bought my 3 month journal for weight watchers, determined to write it down when after I lost 40 pounds, reaching Lifetime membership. I was convinced that since I no longer paid to get access the online tools, that I will follow the planner because I will not want get off track. Worked for a while, and slowly I stopped and the pounds came on. Went to a meeting once and paid. Have not been back since, because 15 pounds later I am too shameful to return and even more upset that I will have to pay because I failed. Online usually works for me – but only works if it is constantly in front of me, or becomes part of my daily routine. Much like exercising. Maybe I should sign up for online WW…

Anyways – so not only am I a writer who never writes, a blogger who never blogs, but also a weight loss champ who had re-gained. Fabulous. When it really boils down to it, the object of my affection has to be something I truly care about. I do love to write and read, but I also love to think. And I have never been that great at sharing what I think – not in the classroom and obviously not in a blog.

Eventually I get to those other affections I care about in due measure. For instance, the weight loss was a priority a year ago but not much lately since familial tensions and spirituality have taken the front seat. However, I will not buy a bigger pant size, so I see weight loss becoming another priority. Perhaps sharing my thoughts will march its way back into the list too.  I have never been much of a hand-raiser, but will share my opinion in writing at any moment. Let’s start with baby steps…

Posted in Passion, Struggles

Leave me your discovery

Categories
My discoveries
Follow Daily discovery on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

A to Z Challenge 2017
A to Z Challenge 2016 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2015 Survivor
A to Z Challenge 2014 Survivor
Ten Things of Thankful
